​Breaking: Canada unveils Olympic team roster!

See who didn’t make the cut! More controversy ahead?

Share on Facebook

The Canadian Olympic men's hockey team that will try for a third straight gold medal next month has been announced. 

The team for the 2018 Winter Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea, was unveiled in Calgary. 

Here are the forwards: 

Rene Bourque, Maxim Lapierre, Gilbert Brule, Quinton Howden, Chris Kelly, Rob Klinkhammer, Brandon Kozun, Eric O'Dell, Mason Raymond, Derek Roy, Christian Thomas, Linden Vey, Wojtek Wolski and Andrew Ebett

Here are the defensemen: 

Marc-Andre Gragnani, Mat Robinson, Karl Strollery, Chris Lee, Maxim Noreau, Cody Goloubef, Chay Genoway, Stecan Elliott. 

And netminders:

Ben Scrivens, Justin Peters and Kevin Poulin. 

Canada won gold medals in Vancouver in 2010 and Sochi in 2014 with teams full of NHL stars.

General manager Sean Burke and head coach Willie Desjardins didn’t have that luxury for next month's Games, as the NHL decided not to send players to the Olympics for the first time since 1994 in a controversial situation across the league.

Here are some players that hoped to make the cut... 

Fans are quick to make jokes on the current roster, in comparison to the previous NHL-star filled lineups. NHL insider Pierre LeBrun is quite to remind them these players have worked hard to earn a spot on the team. 

Go Canada!